First Line Friday #23

The book I’m featuring today on First Line Friday is probably one of my all time favorite novels. It’s part of a wonderful series, but each novel can stand alone. The Knight and the Dove by Lori Wick is a beautiful Christian historical romance where love comes after the marriage vows have been spoken.

Screenshot 2018-04-26 00.08.33

Prologue

Windsor Castle

1531

“What of Vincent of Stone Lake? He’s a loyal lord.”

The king commands Bracken to take Megan of Stone Lake as his wife. He is captivated with her right away, but he’s unskilled in love and isn’t used to sharing his thoughts and feelings. He’s more used to giving commands and expecting immediate obedience.

Megan is rather independent and used to being pushed away because of the dysfunctional home she grew up in. She spent more time away from her family than with them.

They marry because the King commanded it, but now they must find a way to understand and get to know each other. Love slowly grows in both main characters. She tries to please him by finding ways to help make his castle more efficient, which only causes him to think she doesn’t believe he knows how to run his castle. On the other hand, he tries to protect her by taking some of her freedoms, but doesn’t bother explaining why he is doing so. Lack of communication leads to misunderstandings until he almost loses her.

There are fascinating side characters in this novel. I loved Bracken’s family. Where Megan’s family is a sad situation that causes her no end of heartache, his is warm and wonderful. They welcome her with open arms and she experiences the warmth of family her heart has always longed for.

This is a beautiful story that was worth every moment of my time. Loved it!

First Line Friday is something every reader can participate in. Pick up a book near you. Type the first line in the comments, along with the title of the book and the author. Then check out the books other readers have featured in the comments on this blog and on the Hoarding Books link at the end of this post. You might find a book you would like to read simply by reading the first line. You can also click on the title of the book above and it will take you to Amazon so you can see what the book is about, read the reviews other readers have shared, and purchase it if it interests you.

 

Published by

Anneliese Dalaba

Author

20 thoughts on “First Line Friday #23”

  1. Wow, that brings back memories. I had that whole series when I was a teenager!

    I have the first line from Sondra Kraak’s new release, Three Words and a Kiss, on my blog today, but right now I’m going to share the first two lines from my current read, ‘Justice’ by Emily Conrad, which releases on 9 March:

    “Snow floated onto Main Street, each flake large enough to catch the breeze like a parachute. A miniature army, launching a surprise invasion on March first.”

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now there’s a classic (in Christian fiction)! Love Lori Wick’s books.

    I plan to start The Innkeeper’s Daughter by Michelle Griep this weekend, so I’ll share the first line from that book.

    “Numbers would be the death of Johanna Langley.”

    Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I loved reading all those Lori Wick books! My sister and I purchased every Lori Wick book as soon as it would hit the shelves. This sure brings back fun memories, and makes me want to pull out my old copies and read them again!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love Lori Wick!

    The turquoise water surrounded Kaia Oana in a warm, wet blanket of delight. – Distant Echoes by Colleen Coble

    Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy Friday! I love this author!😁

    My First Line Friday comes from a book I will be reading soon, Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak!

    As far back as Sloane McBride could remember, she’d been told she was an ice-queen. Even the people closest to her, especially the people closest to her, complained about her reserve.

    Have a great weekend!😁

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Lori Wick novels. This is making me nostalgic for my teen years when I devoured all of these books!

    Happy Friday!

    Today I am showcasing the first line from Michelle Griep’s newest novel, The Innkeeper’s Daughter. I am loving the book. It is a page turner, and the hero is wonderful. I am just starting chapter 18, so I will share the first line from that chapter here:

    “Johanna opened the door to chaos, then stood there, jaw agape.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love Lori Wick books! The Princess was my favorite and I read it several times. I’m excited to be reminded of her books here. Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. An interesting book. Thanks for sharing. Have a wonderful weekend. Today on my blog I am showcasing The Witches City series. I started NO CURE FOR THE DEAD, a Florence Nightingale story. CHAPTER 1 September 1853 Some said I must have been possessed by a demon to take on the position as superintendent at the Establishment for Gentlewomen

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love it when love comes after the marriage in historical romance! Lovely lines 😉 My lines for today: “Louisville, Kentucky, 2015

    All Allison wanted was for this conversation to be over. That and she hoped the ehavy gray clouds would part and the sun would appear. It could go either way today – sun or rain. She stood at the kitchen window, peeling old white paint off the sill as she waited for the Kentucky sky to make up its mind.

    Meanwhile, sitting behind her at the table, her lover, Cooper Mc Queen, gently ruined her life.” Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This sounds fabulous! I’m sharing from Karen Barnett’s The Road to Paradise on my blog today, so here I’ll share the first line from another book I hope to read soon, The Alliance by Jolina Petersheim:

    “Buffered by grassland, the collision is strangely quiet.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Historical fiction is tricky for me, especially when it is about a time period I know a lot about. Windsor Castle is lovely, I can’t wait to go back again and look around a bit more when Queen Elizabeth is not busy knighting people, causing sections of the castle to be off-limits!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. YES. I remember this book! ❤
    Here’s the first line from the prologue of my current read: “Wyatt Paxton never realized coming home could be as bittersweet as leaving.” (From The Sea Before Us by Sarah Sundin)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment